new Bible

May 3, 2009

One of the worst parts about having my briefcase stolen is that I lost my Bible and moleskine. Now, I wasn’t an avid notetaker, certainly not as much as most. I underlined a verse here and there, and I would go through a week or two when I would be writing all sorts of life changing tidbits of knowledge in my journal so I could reflect and be changed in the future. But for the most part, I only had a few things in there.

But those few things were comfortable. My moleskine had a feel to it after I had put it in my back pocket and sat on it so many times. I had a clever Easter haiku. My Bible would easily open to 1 Corinthians because I once was reading it while it was lightly raining, and the pages were forever morphed by their encounter. A friend wrote that it was to me from “Harvey Birdman, Attorney at Law.” Not very inspirational, but it made me laugh. It was comfortable.

I am realizng that a lot of my spirituality was found in the comfort of that thinline ESV and it accompanying jounral. Every time I thought about buying a new part, I ouldn’t bring myself to do it because of what I had invested in those items. 

Potentially, I put too much into them. My faith shouldn’t feel rattled because I am reading from a different copy of a translation of a copy of a copy of what Paul wrote. The words are no different (sticking with the ESV). This one is not red-letter (which is good or bad, depending on who I’m talking to).  

But in thinking about it, there is a lot of our faith that gets tied up in comfort. The church building, the people, the translation. And I am not sure if that is innherently bad, but I am going to try and guard myself into turning that bound group of pages into my faith, which can be aided by the comfortable, but can’t be defined by it.

2 Responses to “new Bible”

  1. John Says:

    Really good meditation, Andrew.

    Americans especially, love comfort. We like a nice air-conditioned church building, a sermon that doesn’t ask too much of us, and a God who always smiles at us and gently shakes His head when we go astray. I am not sure how the Christian religion evolved to that. Anyway, maybe it is your calling to shake things up.

    John

  2. Tyler Says:

    Nice post. I think you and John are on to something and I think it is a wider or maybe deeper issue as well. I think its the same reason we end up fighting so bitterly about different forms of church, bc what we know and where we’ve experienced God becomes sacred to us. It is a sometimes painful but needed reminder when our eyes are opened to a different view of things.


Leave a Reply

